Skip to main content

How to use BitLocker in Windows 10

What is BitLocker?

BitLocker for Windows 10 allows you to encrypt your complete drives and helps in keeping your data safe from unauthorized tampering as well.

Things to remember before setting up BitLocker

BitLocker is only available on the enterprise and Pro version of windows.
You must have a TPM chip on your computer for good results.
You can use Bitlocker without TPM but it needs extra steps.
Your computer must be connected to the power supply throughout the process.
How to turn On BitLocker without the TPM

Tap on Run command. You can do it by clicking on windows key + R.
As the Run command is on, type gpedit.msc.in and tap on OK and then click Enter.
Find a computer configuration, enlarge and find Administrative Templates item.
Beneath the Administrative Templates, enlarge the Windows Components item.
Under the extended windows components, the Bitlocker Drive Encryption item option will appear.
Open it and then enlarge the Operating System Drives item.
On the top right of the window, tap on Require additional authentication at startup, and select Edit from the menu.
Tap on the Enabled option.
Tap on the checkbox that shows Allow BitLocker without a compatible TPM.
When you are done, tap on OK to complete the process.
How to lope BitLocker

Open Power user menu by clicking on Windows key+X.
Tap on the Control Panel option.
Choose System and Security.
Tap on BitLocker Drive Encryption.
And then tap on Turn on BitLocker.
Select Input a password and keep a password you will use whenever you boot your System to open the drive.
When you have completed, tap on Next.
You will be provided with the recovery key that you can use whenever you forget your password. The options can be a USB flash drive, print recovery key, a file or Save to your Microsoft account.
Tap on the option that is better for you and tap on Next.
Click on the encryption option which is suitable.
For a faster option, you can encrypt the used disk space and if you don’t care about the slow process then you can encrypt the intact disk space.
Select the encryption mode.
The user can use either the compatible mode that is good for removable drives or the new encryption mode which is good for the drives that are fixed to this device.
Once it’s completed tap on Next.
Go to the checkbox that appears Run BitLocker system check and tap on Continue.
You need to restart your PC to start encryption.
Input the password and then click on Enter.
Your PC will start booting the windows desktop. The user can check out the process than simply open Control Panel > System security > Bitlocker > Drive Encryption. And then you see check the process of encrypting your files.
When the whole process is completed, the Encryption must confirm that BitLocker is on.
Ryan Smith is a creative person who has been writing blogs and articles about cyber security. He writes about the latest updates regarding mcafee.com/activate and how it can improve the work experience of users. His articles have been published in many popular e-magazines, blogs and websites.

Source :  BitLocker in Windows 10

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How to Use SAM to Monitor Your Server and Applications

When the server faces any error because of some reason, then you need to fix it before there is any impact on the system. Nowadays, all the things are done online. If you want to know the step to use SAM to monitor your server and applications, then follow the steps mentioned in this article. How to install Server and Application Monitor? ● Discover the devices ● Add applications and discovered servers to SAM. ● After executing the installer, you will get the User Account Control menu on the desktop. ● Press on the Yes button. ● You will get the initializing menu on the screen. ● This procedure will get completed in a few seconds. ● Now, you will get the SolarWinds Setup window on the desktop. ● You will get the three options on the screen. ● Choose the Lightweight Installation option. ● Select where you wish to download the program by pressing on the Browse option. ● After completing these steps, press on th...

How to Delete Siri Search History on Your Apple iPhone

Who doesn’t love Siri voice assistant feature on their iPhone? If you know what Apple is currently doing with Siri searches and recordings, then you might want to delete all of your histories. If you are the person who is conscious about privacy, then you should just delete all searches from your device. Let’s see how to delete Siri searches. How to Delete Siri Searches Without Disabling Siri? If you love using Siri and do not want to leave it in any condition, then this method is only for you. It will allow you to wipe out your history without even affecting the Siri feature on your device. First of all, close the Safari browser entirely even from the background. Then, go to the Settings on your iOS device. After that, move down to the bottom in the settings. Tap Safari. There you have to click on the Clear History. How to Remove Siri Voice Search History Forever? If you want to truly delete everything that Siri has fetched before, then this step is only for you. This me...

How To Delete Pictures From iPhone?

Deleting pictures from the iPhone is a good method of clearing the space. The Photos application makes it simple to remove plenty of pictures at once. Go through this blog to know the method of deleting pictures from your iPhone. The method of removing plenty of pictures from the iPhone Firstly, go to the Photos application. Then, visit the Albums option. After that, choose All Photos. Next, choose Select. It will be present in the right-hand side corner. Note that you can click on single pictures for selecting them one by one. For choosing many pictures altogether, swipe the finger across rows of pictures you wish to remove. Ensure that you swipe horizontally first. Then, you shall be able to swipe vertically without scrolling. Chosen pictures shall show tick on them. For deselecting pictures, just click on the picture. Next, tap on the trash symbol. It will be located at the end right-hand side corner. A pop-up shall tell you to give confirmation that you wish to remove ...